DO YOU KNOW YOUR BLOOD TYPE?

WHAT BLOOD TYPE ARE YOU?

Do you know your blood type?  I do not.  In these many years I have never needed to know it.  BUT, now, for a VISA (in country not credit card) application, I need to know it.  Who Knew.

Sure, I did the test in High School Biology.  Don’t remember the results.

Sure, I have donated blood.  Don’t have the card and never cared.  Just more junk in the wallet.

Yes, I have had surgery.  That requires a request for an information release authorization form, the return of said form, and the re-return of said information.  This goes for labor and delivery as well….Speaking of labor and delivery, I have the card that was in my daughter’s hospital bassinet and it does have a blood type on it, but no indication of whether it is mine or hers.  This request process goes for Dr.’s offices, too.  However, little did I know, your blood type is probably NOT in your doctor’s office file.  Seriously? Who would-a-thunk.  It is not important enough to be in the office file but is important enough to be on a VISA application.

There are at home test kits.  These are a 3-5 day standard shipping wait.

It is not on your birth certificate, or insurance information, or any other piece of paper in my permanent files.  Trust me, I checked.

Who knew this process could be SOOOO aggravating.  Word to the wise, find out what yours is and put it somewhere.  If you ever do need to know it, you will be glad you did.

This entry was posted in Frustration, Health, Personal Information and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DO YOU KNOW YOUR BLOOD TYPE?

  1. Reblogged this on Deceptively Blonde and commented:
    Good point. . . . What if you’re in a wreck and losing blood fast. Do you have the answers you need?

Leave a Reply

