Thanks–>giving!

Happy Birthday!

Six shopping days until Christmas.  Yes, that’s right.  At least for those of us who can only shop on Saturday.  Hard to imagine.  They are opening this mall on Thanksgiving…that is not helping me.  I have a great time celebrating Thanksgiving.  It is the thankful heart that opens the holiday season’s wonderful spirit of giving.  That is why I shop and wrap and decorate and bake and sing carols and, and, and….

I am sitting at the mall in my favorite spot at my favorite coffee place, watching as shoppers go buy–get it by/buy…HeeHee!  There aren’t many bags these days. There hasn’t been for several years.  The rich have gotten much richer while the rest of us struggle.  Gas prices, now insurance costs, then shutting coal plants will more than double the electric bills, all of it raises food costs so there is ever less and less to spend.

Sad fact is that without the joyful heart of Thanksgiving that overflows into celebrating the ‘Reason for the Season,’ in my case the birth of Jesus–I have neither the money nor the time to bother.  It would be r e a l l y easy to start on a big, long list of Scrooge-ish things the holidays entail, but that isn’t the point.

The point is that I do have a thankful and joyful heart.  I am so very thankful for this country as originally founded.  I an so very thankful for all the blessings in my life.  I am so very thankful for the birth, death, and resurrection of Jesus.  I would be joyful and singing without the lights, feast, gifts, songs–what are all the things the Grinch hates? Tis the season to stop, reflect, hug those you love, and rejoice–which leads to decorating and baking and buying and wrapping and, and, and…!

For me it begins with Thanksgiving and that takes all day!  It will continue through the Happy New Year!  What ever time and money I can commit, I will and gladly.  I won’t be out Thanksgiving Day, I will be busy.  While I have in the past, I won’t be shopping on Friday–things are tight.  But because there are things to be thankful for I will be decorating, and singing, and cooking the beast!  Five days will be more than enough this year. Let us open our hearts in Thanksgiving, join hands and share the joy of the season.  There is good in the world and it deserves what ever time, money, and effort we can give celebrating.

Happy Holidays!  Rejoice and be glad in it.

This entry was posted in Frustration, Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

